Independent Community Bankers of South Dakota Hire New CEO


(Mitchell, SD) – Independent Community Bankers of South Dakota (ICBSD) is pleased to announce the hiring of Megan Olson as its new President and CEO.  Olson will replace Greg McCurry the current President and CEO.

“We are very lucky to have Megan join our team” says Hugh Bartels, ICBSD Chairman and Director of Reliabank Dakota in Watertown, SD.  “Megan will bring a high level of enthusiasm and solid leadership to our association.  Our goal remains the same, ‘to help community banks succeed.’  Megan’s skills and abilities will allow our association to continue to grow and provide leadership in South Dakota.”

Olson, a native and resident of Watertown, SD, has served as the Watertown Area Chamber of Commerce President and CEO since 2005. She holds the US Chamber of Commerce’s Institute for Organization Management credentials, the benchmark for chamber of commerce and association management.  Olson brings a strong background in community development, activism and community marketing and promotion.

“I am very excited to jump into my new role with the ICBSD and continue the mission of helping community banks succeed” says Olson.  “Community banks are the backbone of rural South Dakota; I am looking forward to helping each of our members.”  “The regulatory pressures placed on our community banks by Washington, D.C. regulators are out of touch with the realities of our South Dakota way of life, I am looking forward to working hard to convince our lawmakers that banking regulation must not be a one size fits all approach.”

The Independent Community Bankers of South Dakota was founded in 1983 to serve as the voice for independent community banks throughout South Dakota.  ICBSD is the only association that advocates exclusively for community banks.  Community banks help create local jobs, support local organizations, pay local taxes, and work to build communities.