Independent Community Bankers of South Dakota Announces New Chairman, Board Members


WATERTOWN, S.D. – August 14, 2019 – The Independent Community Bankers of South Dakota announced the appointment of three new directors to its board of directors, as well as a new chairman for 2019.

Joining the board as directors are Jodi Eich, Chief Operating Office of Rivers Edge Bank in Howard; Valerie Anderson, Vice President of Farmers State Bank of Canton and Greg Fargen, President of BankStar Financial in Brookings.

“All three of our newest board members embody the spirit of community banking and bring expertise and energy to the association. We are fortunate to have them guiding the association as we continue to advocate for independent community banks throughout South Dakota,” said ICBSD President and CEO Megan Olson.

The ICBSD also announced the appointment of Monte Troske as chair of its board of directors. Troske succeeds Preston Steele, chairman of the board of directors for American Bank & Trust in Huron. Steele had been serving as chairman of the ICBSD board since July of 2018. Troske’s appointment was made effective at the ICBSD’s annual meeting held in July 2019. Steele will remain as a director on the board.

“ICBSD is thrilled to have Monte Troske at the helm, his years of experience in banking as well as his passion for the mission of community banking makes him a perfect fit,” said Olson.

“Preston has been instrumental to the ICBSD in the past year. I am thankful for his leadership, and look forward to leading ICBSD’s board of directors as we work closely with bank and associate members to ensure that independent community banks remain front and center in South Dakota,” said Troske.



The Independent Community Bankers of South Dakota exclusively promotes and defends the common interests of independently owned and locally controlled South Dakota community banks whose services are vital to the preservation of economic diversity in rural America. Nearly 400 independent community bank branches are located in South Dakota, representing more than 1,000 communities across the state and employing over 20,000 state residents.